Legacy Games

For the past few days, I have been hooked on Rogue Legacy on Steam. What really makes the game isn’t the perma-death, but the parts that carry on to the next life. It gives me a sense of progression. With enough gold on a run through, I can unlock character classes and upgrades galore. I feel as if I am crafting something lasting, even as characters drop like flies.

Rogue Legacy made me think about the legacy format for board games. Legacy just means that something from the previous game carries over to future games. The most famous legacy board game is Risk Legacy, but I have always avoided it because I don’t like Risk. From what I hear, each game permanently alters the board and adds rules to subsequent games.

The legacy game I have played is Fabled Fruit. Each Fabled Fruit game starts with a different set of cards because cards are either unlocked or removed in each playthrough. Since each kind of card has different rules, the rules actually change over time. I played this once at a convention, so I don’t really know how it holds up over multiple plays, but I found the idea fascinating.

I am thinking of this concept for my future games.

Author: seanspangler

I am co-creator of the board game Sol: Last Days of a Star. I will talk about board games, design, and other stuff I enjoy. I'm always on the lookout for artists, app developers, and other designers. If that is you, say hi!

Leave a Reply

