Favorite Board Game

My son’s teacher told me he needs more work on his writing.So I gave him a topic to start out on: what is your favorite video game, and why? Then he said I should write about it too, my favorite board game. Fair enough, here it is.
First off, it’s nearly impossible to name a favorite board game. There are games that are my favorite in certain situations, but overall favorite? It’s is a tougher topic than I anticipated.
There are board games I love, like Archipelago, Puzzle Strike, Melee,and Bios: Megafauna. But if I have to pick one, it would be Pax Porfiriana.
Why? Well, there are a few reasons. First is the theme. It’s a game about the Mexican revolution, and I love how the art on the cards takes me to that world. The game inspired me to read 3 books on the revolution and start to learn Spanish.
There is high player interaction. Most of the interaction is screwing other players, but it doesn’t feel mean-spirited, since victims are awarded points. So when you do something dastardly to another player, you also give them something. And finally, I never feel out of the game.

Author: seanspangler

I am co-creator of the board game Sol: Last Days of a Star. I will talk about board games, design, and other stuff I enjoy. I'm always on the lookout for artists, app developers, and other designers. If that is you, say hi!

Leave a Reply

