First Impressions

A bad first impression of a board game can doom it. Negative associations with its first play through keep me from wanting to explore it further. It may never again hit the table.

It takes us much longer to get to the enjoyable part of a board game than many other forms of entertainment. Also, some of the more contentious games can create arguments and bad feelings.

I don’t think I have ever gotten all the rules right on the first playthrough. So a game may not actually even be played correctly at first.

It’s surprising people even play board games. Apparently, there is something about board games that encourages us to overcome the initial learning curve. And for me,  it just can’t be replicated by any other form of entertainment.

Author: seanspangler

I am co-creator of the board game Sol: Last Days of a Star. I will talk about board games, design, and other stuff I enjoy. I'm always on the lookout for artists, app developers, and other designers. If that is you, say hi!

Leave a Reply

